top of page

LA Independent Women Film Awards seasonal winners

LA Independent Women Film Awards is a seasonal and annual festival with various competitions and screening programs devoted to the promotion, screening and distribution of films directed and produced by women. The festival also has a screenwriting contest and selects the best artists in acting, cinematography and editing for its seasonal IMDb verified competition which brings award winning female artists to vote for the best of each category.

It is the mission of the festival to support and discover female voices working in cinema in fiction, documentary, animation, experimental, comedy and all genres from all over the globe. The annual Women's Lens screening program of the festival takes place every year in January through various cinemas in LA and the LA Independent women film magazine. The latest screening of the annual women's lens screening program was at the historic Fine Arts Theatre of Beverly Hills. It is our pleasure to announce the latest seasonal winners of LA Independent Women Film Awards.

Here are the winners:

Best Female Director & Best Narrative Feature of the season

Mitzi Peirone

Saint Clare

Honorable Mention Narrative Feature

Greek Mothers Never Die

Director: Rachel Suissa

Best Narrative Short


Director: Anastasia Marshall

Honorable Mention Short

Help Yourself

Director: Hedvig Andersson

Best Actress

Rena Strober


Best Short Producer

Sof Aragon

The Night

Best Cinematographer

Help Yourself

Malin LQ

Best Short Editor

Youyin Zhang

What if I Never Wake Up Again?

Best Composer

Christina Giannone

The Garden of Eden

Best Produced Script

Gen LaGreca

Noble Vision

Best Documentary Feature

Waorani. Guardians of the Amazon

Director: Luisana Carcelén

Best Documentary Short

A Place at the Operating Table

Director: Melissa Huerga Malillos, Alicia Dyke, Brandon O'L

Best Director

Marion H von Loewenstern

The Handbag

Best Short Animation

The Red Heel

Director: Elena Katherine Serenko

Honorable Mention Animation


Director: Christina Elizabeth Christie

Best Short Horror

Amy John and Jiu Jitsu Dave

Director: Ruby Vincent

Best Short Experimental


Director: Maica Gogolati

Honorable Mention Experimental


Director: Marta Chierego

Best Student Film


Director: Anne Madeleine Mancosu

Best L.A. Filmmaker

The Cowboy and The Queen

Director: Andrea Nevins

Best International Filmmaker

My Mom's Best Friend

Xueqing Yin

Best Science Fiction


Director: Alice Hjorth

Best Music Video

Still Raining

Director: Maria Cangemi

Best Series-Web-Pilot

A Broad Abroad Pilot

Director: Debra Pralle

Best Short LGBTQ

Concerto for Abigail

Director: Jan Miller Corran

Best Short Comedy

America's Next Best President

Director Biography - Katie Cassidy

Best Human Rights


Director: Brigitte Leoni

Best Youth Artist

My Rockstar

Dylan Chance

Best Environmental


Director: Paula Randol-Smith

Best First-Time Filmmaker

Wrinkles of her Smile

Director: Suzan Van Eck

Best Unproduced Script

1 in 20

Writer: Donna Jeffries


bottom of page